Reviews

Rhythm Magazine 5.0 out of 5 stars  5 Star Review

Ringo_Rhythm_Review_Blur_53

 

“True Ringo fans rejoice! Sound engineer Alex Cain and scene-contemporary Terry McCusker have put together the absolutely definitive book about Ringo’s drumming with the Fab Four”……..

“A beautiful hardback coffee-table book, well presented over 400-plus pages, with some great photos.” “The stories behind the beats are fascinating and insightful…it’s absolutely vital stuff” ……..

“This fabulous book illustrates in detail Ringo’s approach to dynamics and serving the songs so brilliantly imagined by Lennon and McCartney.”

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Rhythm Magazine, July 2017 edition.

 


 

The British Beatles Fan Club Review

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 20.31.22

“At last a book about Ringo and drumming. The authors have both enjoyed careers as drummers, and with a foreword by Don Powell, (the drummer with glam rock band Slade), we have the ideal book for drummers and Ringo fans. Terry McCusker witnessed The Beatles live at the Cavern in the early 1960’s, and along with Alex Cain have put together an appreciation of Ringo and his drumming.

When I first read the book, my initial reaction was that it was targeted for drummers, but as I went further into it, I found myself reading a real appreciation of Ringo. The book begins with a section of how to use drum notation, and what the different parts of a drum kit are, followed by a short piece on Terry’s recollections of Merseybeat and The Cavern.

The book then looks at some of the many drummers The Beatles had before Ringo came along, including Colin Hanton, Mike McCartney, Garston Bottle Works very own Tommy Moore, and, of course, Pete Best.

A mini Ringo biography follows, before we look at the two drummers who played with The Beatles after Ringo had joined- Andy White, Jimmy Nicol and Paul McCartney. Ringo’s styles and kits are then analysed. I found the drum kits especially interesting. The book then looks at recording and the producers and engineers of The Beatles’ records, before we get to the nitty gritty of the book.

Of the 400 pages, 262 look at The Beatles songs, with brief information of each song, and part of the drum notation, so if you own a drum kit, you can play along. When I got to this part, I was tempted to get a drum kit and try it out, but my room is too small!

All in all, a book all drummers should own, and one many Beatle fans, particularly those that love Ringo and have an interest in playing, will thoroughly enjoy.”


Amazon Reviews

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 21.10.39

5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book

By Justin Case TOP 500 REVIEWER on 23 Jan. 2017 Verified Purchase

“I am not, and sadly never could be, a drummer. However I love the Beatles’ music and, having spotted this new book on a display stand at its publishers while I was there fixing the loo (!), I thought it looked fascinating so I later bought a signed copy (direct from the authors on here incidentally – thanks very much chaps).The first two reviewers have covered the book perfectly, but it deserves all the praise they have given it and I just wanted to add another five star review to the collection.

I won’t pretend to be able to understand the drumming notation given for the songs, but the details of Ringo’s life, his kit, his technique and how he fitted in to the group are also well worth buying it for.

It’s a beautifully made book, heavy, striking and attractive to look at, and with excellent reproduction of the text and photographs.

All in all, for a different, and I believe quite rare perspective on the greatest single collection of 20th century songs, this is a wonderful book, and I recommend it to you unreservedly.”


 5.0 out of 5 stars This is a weighty tome (2Kg) of exceptional quality.

By Carjack on 18 Jan. 2017 Verified Purchase

“This is a fabulous book, with a unique angle and fresh look at the Beatles music, examining Ringo’s work with the Beatles, and much, much more.

The main section of the book looks at every Beatles song, and how the Beatles got the best out of Ringo’s drumming talent and used percussion to enhance the songs.
The book includes notated drum music, and you can clearly see the layout of the percussion (tambourine, bongos, cowbell etc). It’s great to listen to the songs while following the music, and you don’t have to be a drummer or musician to do so.
There’s sections on early Beatles drummers (with none of the same old stories re-hashed), plus plenty of interesting info on Ringo’s drums. It’s also a pretty big book, with over 400 pages and plenty of photos (some I’ve never seen before, many in colour), there are even pie charts and graphs showing the drums and percussion make-up of each LP. All in all, I can thoroughly recommend the book.”

5.0 out of 5 stars Ringo – Beat this book

By Flam Control on 18 Jan. 2017 Verified Purchase

“Let me start off by saying that this book is the epitome of books on the subject of Ringo Starr and is absolutely full of information we have maybe heard briefly before but here before you is an in- depth exploration of a different kind and I feel richer for having bought the book and delved into its contents .Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 21.17.58
Besides the obvious word content there is a plethora of brilliant photos, a great breakdown in the form of the drum chart but what is most unusual and pleasing to the eye is the very clever use of the pie chart for percentage use of the various instruments per Beatles track .
The two authors are obviously very big fans of their subject matter and for me it comes through in the form of real passion and anyone just glancing through the book will be pulled in and made to listen again to Ringo`s mastery of his art and not the joke that often gets mentioned when the subject of Beatles drumming is mentioned . Spot on boys a great product and a fab read , cheers !!”

Modern Drummer Review of the ebook of Ringo Starr And The Beatles Beat.

modern_drummer_march_2016

“Clearly a labor of love….”

“…. a smartly compiled Ringo one-stop with an emphasis on the drummer’s influential artistry.”

 “There’s plenty of informative and entertain Ringophile reading for drummers and non-drummers alike.”

Jeff Potter, Modern Drummer, March 2016.


scr2557-proj697-a-kindle-logo-w-rgb-lg The following reviews have been posted on various Kindle and iBooks stores worldwide.

Excellent read. A different perspective ★★★★★ by ncl_knight – Sep 5, 2015 

I loved this read. Being a drummer might influence this, and being a Beatle nut probably makes this worse, but this is an excellent book that isn’t full of all the same stories rehashed. Rings is a great drummer. Totally underrated, but loved by people who understand his drumming philosophy.

★★★★★ Amazing book! By M. Emerson on September 6, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase 

I stumbled upon this while looking for some Beatles drum sheet music. It’s an amazing review of Ringo’s work with the Beatles. A must purchase for any drummer interested in Beatles drumming and use of percussion.

Ringo Starr and the Beatles Beat ★★★★★by Karlosco – Sep 7, 2015

An absolutely brilliant book, even for non-drummers. A really good insight into the history of Get-it-on-iBooks-badgethe Beatles thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone , bravo!!!